Dull and Mundane Story

Plumbing Problems, Broken Fridge, Bad BBQ, and COVID Makes For A Great Day

A day in the life of a guy who wanted to do nothing

Lee J. Bentch
3 min readJan 30, 2022

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I woke up feeling like a million dollars. The weather was warm for January, the family tenants quietly sleeping upstairs, the dogs healthy and happy. Laying in bed, I envisioned a day of lazy bliss, indulgent eating, and an evening martini.

Little did I know, ten feet away, hell waited with a cup of piss and vinegar.

Challenging things happen in threes, and the day was no different. Cannonballs started flying the minute I stumbled out of my room.

My sink, fridge, and grandson all broke as if there was a conspiracy to ruin my day. Luckily I felt so good I figured I could tackle anything.

  • My kitchen sink spray nozzle developed a hole in its hose. When I turned on the faucet, nothing came out. And then I felt water on my feet. It didn't take long for my brain to register the problem. That's not good.
  • I opened my fridge freezer, and I saw water dripping from the ice maker and ice cream melting. A warmth blew in my face. And I quickly figured out that's not good. Crap, I thought.
  • While waiting on my coffee to brew, my text…

--

--

Lee J. Bentch

I am an author, a technology guy, a grandad, a widower, and a man with many interests. I write to inform and entertain. Email: lee@lbentch.com